[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Cross-Cultural Program: Ireland and Northern Ireland 2001 -

Northern Ireland
Republic of Ireland
Entire Island
Total Area :
5,456 sq mi
27,135 sq mi
32,593 sq mi
5,156 sq mi
26,598 sq mi
31,557 sq mi
300 sq mi
537 sq mi
1,036 sq mi
232 mi
900 mi
1,970 mi
~ 1,642,000
~ 3,607,000
~ 5,250,000
UK flag
EI flag
(some of these amounts from different sources are incongruous!)

The island of Ireland is situated in the Atlantic ocean, west of Britain, and to the extreme northwest of Europe. It lies between latitude 51.5 and 55.5 degrees North, and longitude 5.5 and 10.5 degrees West.

Northern Ireland is situated in the northeastern corner of Ireland, and is made up of six counties: Antrim, Armagh, Derry, Down, Fermanagh, and Tyrone. Belfast, in county Antrim, is the capital city. Although Belfast is by far the largest city, and most populated, there are major population centres in Derry, Ballymena, Coleraine, Dungannon, Craigavon and Omagh.

The Republic of Ireland is made up of 26 counties: Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow. Dublin, in county Dublin, is the capital city. In the Republic of Ireland, over 40% of the population resides within 60 miles of Dublin.

Ireland shares the same time zone as London, that is, UTC (five hours ahead of US Eastern Standard Time). See the current time. Also see whether the sun is up right now!

An excellent external site about Irish geography is here.

See more maps with further detail about Northern Ireland...