Owen Byer

Owen Byer

Office Phone: (540) 432-4642


Main Campus, Harrisonburg

Office Location: SC 002

Department Chair

Mathematical Sciences Dept


MA in Biomedicine

Professor of Mathematics

Mathematical Sciences Dept

Owen joined the Eastern Mennonite faculty in 1999 after teaching at Northwestern College (Iowa) for three years. He earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics with secondary certification at Messiah College in Grantham, Pa., and a master’s degree and Ph.D. in mathematics at the University of Delaware in Newark. His graduate training is in combinatorics, and he has recently starting writing a Discrete Math textbook with Deirdre Smeltzer and Felix Lazebnik. He coauthored the geometry textbook Methods for Euclidean Geometry, published in 2010 by MAA. His hobbies include playing basketball, bridge, and watching NFL football. Owen and his wife Barbara married in January 1990, with son Cameron born in 1998 and daughter Lily in 2001. The family attends Weavers Mennonite Church in Harrisonburg, Va.

  • B.A. in Mathematics, with secondary education certification, from Messiah College, 1989.
  • M.S. and Ph.D. in Mathematics from University of Delaware, 1996, under the direction of Felix Lazebnik. Thesis: Several Results on Extremal (v,e)-graphs.
Church, Community and Professional Service
(2012-2013 Academic Year only)
  • Reviewer for Mathematical Reviews.
  • Mathcounts Coach, Eastern Mennonite Middle School.
  • Guest lecturer, Eastern Mennonite High School, in Advanced Placement Calculus class, May 2013.
  • Director of Harrisonburg Duplicate Bridge Club.
  • Treasurer and Chair of Finance Committee, Weavers Mennonite Church.
Professional Memberships
  • Mathematical Association of America
  • Association of Christians in the Mathematical Sciences
Professional Conferences Attended
(2011-2013 Academic Years only)
  • SUMS Conference, James Madison University, September 29, 2012.
  • Joint Meeting of the AMS and MAA, Boston, January 4-7, 2012
  • SUMS Conference, James Madison University, October 22, 2011.
EMU Service
(2012-2013 Academic Year only)
  • Chair of Mathematical Sciences Department
  • Chair of colleague review committee
  • Member of search committee for Physics/Engineering positions
  • Other service was limited due to sabbatical